Blog · Review

Review for Ink & Lies by S.L. Jennings

Book Review
img_2472

Ink & Lies
S.L. Jennings
Publication date: February 9th 2016
Genres: Contemporary, New Adult
Format: eARC
Source: N/A
piheart5

goodreadsbutton

From International Best Selling Romance Novelist, Hope Hughes, comes a gripping, heartfelt tale of two lovers, fighting for the freedom to…

No. Scratch that. Too cheesy.

…two people, torn apart by the tumultuous tides of life, only to discover refuge in…

WTF? What does that even mean? DELETE.

…two people, confused as shit as to where they should be and who they should love and none of this means a damn thing because it’s all lies!

Lies.

I’m not Hope Hughes. I’m not some fierce woman romance machine. Hell, I’m not even a woman.

I’m a liar.

And while I refuse to believe my own BS, deceit masked in heartfelt phrases of love and devotion, I want to make her believe them. Because maybe—just maybe—if she can find the soul within my words, she’ll also be able to find the truth scribbled on my heart.

You see, I once lived for the perfect plot twist.

I just never expected to actually live it.

This is my story. Well, maybe her story. I just wish I could make it our story.

The one I’m still writing.

Buy Links:

Amazon US / UK

My Thoughts

S.L. Jennings has done it again…. She has written another fantastic novel with so much depth and emotion. I loved reading every moment of it and when I finished with this novel I just stared out in front of me for a long time. I did not know what to do next that is how much I loved this novel. I actually never thought I would love this novel so much especially with that very vague blurb. One thing I can tell you is that this is not one of those novels where the couple get together after just a few chapters but it is so much more.

80e9e55dcc0b5a12ae8ec8c23b92a001

Now this story is about August and Fiona. They have been best friends for a decade and they are everything to each other – from counsellor, confidant, companion and friend. It’s almost like they can’t live without each other and I wish I had friendship like those two. August who is an author does not believe in love, yet he write only romance novels AND Fiona is a hopeless romantic. The first half of the book was so hilarious and trust me it has a lot off laugh out moments. They have amazing banter and hysterical interactions made me cry with laughter. The second half of the book was more emotional and with more angst. My heart could not take all those emotions in this book yet I still could not put it down. It was so addictive. A lot of times I wanted to smack August and the plot of this novel was so not predictable. You could never guess what would happen next.

img_2469

This story is almost told entirely in August’s point of view and Miss Jennings does a wonderful job at portraying him and trust me he was very complex but also has a great empathetic manner. This novel was angsty and frustrating at times but also sweet and sassy. ARC did frustrate me with his view on love and how it only exists in a person’s mind, but yet I fell hopelessly in love with him through each word he spoke. You will feel so much emotions in this book so trust me you will need a box of tissues with you! Fiona is just as amazing and I wished she was real because she sounds like one amazing friend.

fangirling

Ink & Lies is a book that I would savour forever and when I see the paperback in store, I will make sure I buy it I can’t survive with just the ebook. I need that beautiful cover on my bookcase. I will highly recommend this book to everyone I see. Ink & Lies left me floored and trust me it is a tear jerker! Get off your ass and read this book!

 

 

pink4

5 rating

 

Ash

Divider_031

 

 

About the Author

img_2442

S.L. Jennings is a New York Times & USA Today bestselling author of contemporary and paranormal romance, reality TV junkie, obsessive coffee drinker and collector of crazy.

Stalk Her: Website | Facebook | Twitter |Goodreads

Leave a Reply

